Lancers Honor Athletes at Yearly Event
MMC - Thu, May 11, 2017
News Photo

YANKTON, SD – May 11, 2017 – The annual Lancer Athletic Senior Recognition and Special Awards Ceremony was held on Sunday, May 7, 2017 on the campus of Mount Marty College in Yankton, SD. Mount Marty College President Marc Long opened the ceremony with a welcome. The "Voice of the Lancers", Scott Kooistra, served as the Master of Ceremonies.

Student-athletes were recognized for their efforts throughout the past year.  Major honorees named included the Yankton Quarterback Club Athletes of the Year award, the Lancers Champion of Character award, and the Lancer Club awards winners.  Senior student-athletes were also honored and given a memento. 

The Lancer Champions of Character Award winner for 2016-2017 is awarded annually to the one student athlete that best portrays the values of the NAIA core character values – responsibility, respect, servant leadership, integrity, and sportsmanship. This year's recipient is Caitlin Davis from Elk Point, SD.

The Yankton Quarterback Club Award is given to an outstanding male and female athlete at Mount Marty College in any class or sport.  The 2017 Yankton Quarterback Club Female Athlete of the Year is Logan Wagner. She was a pivotal part of the most successful basketball and golf teams in Lancer history. She is a record holder in basketball, and has been All-Conference in both basketball and golf several times. The 2017 Yankton Quarterback Club Male Athlete of the Year was track star Jordan Houdek. A current record holder in a couple of events, he has been named All-Conference 6 times, and was named All-American this past year.

The Lancer Club Award is given to the student-athlete in each MMC program who best exemplifies scholarship, citizenship, and leadership in their respective sport.

The 2016-2017 Lancer Club Award winners are:

For more information on the Mount Marty College athletic program please visit or contact Athletic Director, Chuck Iverson at [email protected]